top of page
  • Writer's picturesolidaritipendidik

My Personal Scholarship Journey - Hadeef

Updated: May 11, 2022


My first step to embark on the journey began right after SPM. I was searching through the Internet for different branches and courses people took during their tertiary studies. Reading blogs and watching videos from different websites, had opened my eyes that there were lots of things to be done in the future. From just a science stream student knowing only about life and physical sciences, I was thrilled to realize that my interest was not really in the field that I used to dive in during high school. Humanities and business somehow appealed me to the point that I think it'll be diverting if I jump into these areas.


After more discovery with people from these courses - my own brother who is currently working in the bank and also my senior who studied economics during her a-level. I acknowledged that my desire was more towards reading economics. If you ask me, what makes economics interesting in my view? I would simply say that the component itself is amusing and suitable with my abilities and my passion.From my own perspective, economics could be defined as human behaviour and action in utilising scarce resources around them and how they use it for the benefits of all individuals. What’s more unique about is that all the theories could be witnessed in a real life scenario and some of it require a specific calculation or critical thinking to justify the ideas. Hence, from that, I have decided and determined to read economics one day for my degree.


After receiving my SPM result on the 10th June 2021, the real battle started. About less than one week after that unforgettable date, all the scholarships and university advertisements saturate my social media platforms. Every single SPM leavers are assiduously looking for chances to pursue their studies in their own intended courses. Some of them aimed for Local Public Universities (UPU), some of them opted for matriculation, Teacher Education Institution (IPG) or even STPM. However, I believed that most people will aim for scholarships either for local or overseas studies. With that so, I set my own strategy and plan. My major goal is none other than to secure scholarships to continue my education abroad.


Some may ask why do I want to study abroad ?How do I choose and apply for scholarships? And what’s the requirement for me to get a scholarship? Let me tell you one by one.


Firstly, I want to study as an international student because I want to explore what's beyond this country. The people, the places, the culture,the food - you name it all. Encountering new experience will utterly leave me with special and momentous chapters in my story. Aside from that, I feel that studying in foreign countries will nurture me to become more independent and bold as I grow up. Being apart for thousands of miles from my beloved family and country will never be an easy thing but I personally believe that this decision will result in greater impacts and changes to my own life


Apart from that, I believe that I should not waste the opportunities just like that right after SPM. Hence, why don't I just try to grab the chance to apply for it? With that,I launched my action plan. Through different sources, I discovered numerous scholarships for SPM leavers especially for overseas studies. In total, I applied for about 10 scholarships from the government and also the GLCs which include Bank Negara, Yayasan Khazanah, Permodalan Nasional Berhad (PNB) , JPA, Petronas and many more.


During this phase, what can I say is that you have to be mentally and physically stable and strong in enduring all the stages. Some scholarships will require you to write an essay (BNM,YK,YUEM), some of it will ask you to sit for an IQ/numerical/Problem Solving Assessment (PNB,YK,PETRONAS) or some of it just require you to fill in all the details during the application stage then you just have to wait for the result to come out (Most YTP MARA programs). An addition to that, some programs in that same sponsorship may differ from other programs. For example, those who want to pursue medic locally under YTP MARA may have to undergo the interview session while other programs will not require you to do so.


Overall, you must get a good result in your SPM that obey the minimum requirement from the sponsorship bodies and prepare yourself with all the skills that will be evaluated during those stages. Be authentic, be yourself and just let the interviewers know you better in depth. Aside from just rewarding scholarships, they are actually trying to look for their potential future staffs as some bodies require you to serve the bond after graduating. Nevertheless, you still need to prepare some useful skills to excel your interview. Firstly, starting from now, you may need to train yourself to speak both in Malay and English in an appropriate way so that you'll be able to answer the questions given confidently. From that, you will certainly give a good first impression to them. However, don't ever try to be cocky and act as if you know everything because that will annoy the interviewers. Be humble and just share your opinions with them. They would love to listen it from you.


Secondly, try to do as much research as possible on your intended courses, current issues and also the scholarship bodies background because these components could be asked during the interviews but maybe you can also get some weird and strange questions out of the context.If that case happens, just be relax and answer it in your own way. There is no right or wrong answer. The assessors just want to know your creativity and your opinion alongside with solid reasons behind it. Therefore, don't stress yourself out if you think you did bad because if it is your rezeki, then you'll be rewarded. Be patient and don't stop putting effors during these challenging phases.


We all know that the first step is always the hardest one. I still remember my first interview where I kind of felt nervous and somehow I didn't do my best during that session. Even so, it actually helped me to be more familliar and encourage me to do better in the next interviews. Therefore, I learnt from my mistakes and try to improve myself on the next interview.If you ever feel that your interview is not pleasing and good enough, just let bygones be bygones and move on from it. Detect your weaknesses quickly and improve that part in the upcoming one. Trust me, after one interview to another, you will be better and contented with your own progress. As for me, after each interview, I felt more satisfied and happy with myself. I improved a lot, I knew myself better and I knew that I had done my very best.


After a long tough voyage, interviews , assessments and video submissions ,I finally reached my destination. Beyond grateful, I received a surprise from my inbox in the middle of the night of 30th July 2021. The first word ‘congratulations' was written there in the email and I was overjoyed to be rewarded as one of the recipients of Bank Negara Kijang Scholarship 2021. Throughout that sleepless night, I kept on checking the same e-mail to know if it was real or just my imagination. Until I woke up, I still couldn't believe that it was true. My feelings were indescribable as I was over the moon back then. All in all, those moments still feel surreal until now and it was so beautiful that it makes want to cry every time I remember it.


With the course offered , economics and a choice of either three countries, United Kingdom, USA or Australia, I finally saw my path vividly at the front. Right now, I'm still climbing to the top until I set my foot on foreign land. A-level is also not a calm phase. I have to struggle and put multiple efforts to get into my dream university and achieve 4A*. With the subjects combo - Economics, Accounting, Maths, Further Maths , I trust myself that I will be able to reach the highest level. Aspiring to become future economist or monetary and economic policy maker, I will come back to Malaysia to serve my nation and the people in this country.I see myself in the next 5 to 10 years as a central banker who is committed to transform this land into a better place in all aspects. At the same time, if I have the opportunity to expand my knowledge, I will continue my studies in postgraduate.


To summarise everything, I truly believe that everyone’s adventure is different from one another and we all have our own ups and downs. Some may deal with a less challenging road while some others will have too many hills and holes in their journey. However, at the end of the day, you have to put faith in God that something sweet and pleasant is currently waiting for you as your efforts will never betray you from attaining your own goals and target. With that, I wish you all the best of luck and may a perfect ending be with you.


If you guys have any enquiries just reach out to me via my email (zulhadeefzakaria@gmail.com) or my instagram ( @zulhadeef_zak) Thank you and all the best!!!

242 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page