top of page
  • Writer's picturesolidaritipendidik

A Voyage To Save The Earth

Updated: May 4, 2022




Why/How Did You Choose Your Field?

Hello! I am Mukhreez (ig:@mukhreeeeez). I am totally grateful if this article is published into featured as this is my first article J About me, I am currently completing my A-Levels in Kolej Yayasan UEM sponsored by Petronas under the Petronas Education Sponsorship Programme (PESP). I am delightful to share how did I choose my course of study with Petronas in the future. Enjoy!


Ever since I was a child, I was shocked to see the breaking news about the natural disasters. Some of it have taken lives with them while animals in the area have lost their habitats. It is a bit disappointing to know that these natural disasters are not 100% naturally occurred. They are mainly caused by man-made activities which affects the biodiversity of a growing area. Such human activities are illegal hunting, excessive logging and unplanned development. The use of Chlorofluorocarbons (CFC) is also one of the factors that badly contributes to climate change and hence, resulting in global warming. There are thousands of questions on how these natural disasters will affect the age of our world. Will the world end if these disasters continuously come and remain its effects throughout the years?


I feel terrified when I read about them in the news nor the books. Who will save the world then? The urge to know more about this kind of problems came to arise when I learnt Biology in Form 4: Topic 9 – Endangered Ecosystems. I got to learn the disruption of ecosystems that is threatened by various irresponsible human behaviours. Not only that matters, they also affect our health. Take an example from air pollution, we can easily get sick by suffering from eyes irritation, skin problems and respiratory disturbance. My enthusiasm is growing and I decided to be a doctor that saves the world by saving the environment before the condition become worse. Therefore, I participated in many campaigns to save the environment. Going paperless and carry-on recycled bags are two activities that I have practiced since that day(am I better than everyone? Tiktok, 2020).


Furthermore, I do like experiments like most of you do. I will pay my best attention in the lab sessions during Biology, Chemistry and Physics to produce accurate results. Name it. Titration, microscopic observation and light experiment are go-to choices of my preferred experiments. But the most fascinating practical for me is to study the concentration of dissolved oxygens in a water sample. Using 1% methylene blue solution(I don’t know if you guys learn this or not), I can decide how polluted is the water sample and therefore induce the rate of water pollution of an area in the river. This has been a serious matter since the day when life has existed. For instance, the cholera outbreak in Africa taught us to beware of our hygiene to live a healthy life.


After SPM, I do a lot of reading and video streaming about these environmental issues. That was when Petronas’s scholarship advertisement came across my Instagram feeds. I browse through the website and found this course: “Environmental Science”. I have never heard of it before but I did some researches in the Internet. I found this course in myriad of renowned universities in the United Kingdom and really invested into it. Besides, studying overseas have been one of my dreams since the primary ages. Honestly, I am not really hopeful to get the offer but trust the process. I believe that if we are passionate in what we are doing, they will help us to succeed. Currently, here I am – being a hero to save the environment for the betterment of society so you can inhale fresh and clean air, one fine day.



209 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page