top of page
  • Writer's picturesolidaritipendidik

The Birth of a Fawn - Syabil Ilham, Bank Negara Malaysia Scholar for Economics

Updated: Jun 19, 2022




The dream — it was so vivid. I said it was a dream because it almost seemed

like it was. I was half-asleep at 2 AM on a Friday, scrolling my chats in a pitch-black

room while being entirely oblivious of what was ahead of me. Just seconds away

before entering the state of subconsciousness, I was promptly informed by a friend

(via text) regarding an email — an email that was long-awaited by almost 200 18-

year-old teenagers who reached the final stage of Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM)

Scholarship. Thinking it was a prank (I thought it would come out in a week and

probably because I was semi-awake), I casually opened the Gmail app with zero

expectation of the actual results. How foolish I was.


Among the many unread spams and promotion emails I received, there was

one incredibly enticing email that stood out from the rest. And to this day, I still

can’t stop thinking about the first word written in the email…


I hope that is enough to hook you up to read this to the end. You might be

here to prepare for your upcoming interview or to rummage ideas for your essay, or

maybe perhaps you just want to have a glimpse of my application process for the

aforementioned scholarship. I will be giving tips, followed by my own anecdotal

experience. I’m splitting this into two main sections:


- Essay

- Kijang Academy (Assessment, video submission, ice-breaking, case study,

and personal interview)


If you’re far enough into the future, COVID-19 might have been an ancient

history then (aamiin). But back in my year, we had to go through all of this process

virtually from the comfort of our own home. Nonetheless, it was still an eye-

opening experience for me. Hopefully, this piece of writing will inspire you in ways

that are beneficial <3.


Essay

Out of all the essays that I have ever written, I have never been as invested

as this one. It was a generous but reasonable 500-word essay with a flexible

guideline on what to write. There were two questions that I didn’t exactly

remember, but essentially they told us to convince them i)why we are worthy of the

scholarship, ii)our career aspirations.


First step: DON’T RUSH!


I typed them all in caps which means it is important. I have learned my

lesson after writing my UEM Scholarship essay beforehand (it was horrible). Take

your time to find inspiration. Reflect and contemplate on your past. The good times

and the ordeals you’ve gone through that have shaped you into becoming who you

are today. Jot down anything that brings significance to you while briefly

elaborating:


i) The description of the event

ii) What did you learn from that event

iii) Relation to your main goal (refer to the question)


[ Note: This would come in handy for interviews as well. ]


Then for the 2nd question, try to research your interests to get a better

depth of understanding. Explore them. You will be bound to learn something new in

this period, do not only think of writing an impeccable essay. Look forward to the

journey of writing the essay instead, so you will only write about yourself instead of

something that is “try-hard” to imitate the best. I promise you they have read

many essays that are pretentious and full of jargon, to the extent that they seemed

fake. They want something original, so explore your interest.


Second step: Draft


After you have listed your prospective ideas, get to the keyboard right away

and start writing. I honestly like to write them promptly without “buat rangka

karangan”. I think I can articulate my ideas better that way, but it’s just me. Suit

yourself whichever you feel comfortable with the most. One pro I would agree with

if you were to rangka your essay first is, that you get to estimate the word count

better so you don’t have to cut them after. Make sure you answer the question

accurately.


Do describe your experience in a lucid manner (Show, not tell). For example:

“I enjoy playing futsal to relieve stress”

“The laughter and joy of playing futsal allows me to feel like a human amidst the

upcoming exams”


The second sentence puts the reader in your shoes more concretely and

subsequently, immerses them deeper into the understanding of your perspectives.

Also, do give convincing reasons for each of your aspirations/ambitions. If you want

to become an economist because you want to help people; explain what makes you

think that way. There must be a reason why you choose economics as a channel

and why you want to help people. Again, show and not tell. Instead of giving direct

ideas, set your sentences to have a hint of mystery, yet easy to be figured out. It is

just psychology, the reader would be more invested in your stories if they do a bit

of work to digest your essay, in contrast to if you just spoon-feed them information.


Third step: Proofread


Alright, you’ve done the main part, now it is time to review it by yourself,

followed by your friends/seniors/family. You might have several excess words, so

let’s start with that. Shave off words or sentences that are insignificant. One way to

do this is by reading that part of your essay with and without the sentence. Then

compare which sounds better so you can identify the necessity of that sentence. As

for words, search for redundancy. I suggest you use Grammarly to check this, the

free version is adequate.


Also, remember to focus more on quality than quantity. Honestly, they don’t

care how many competitions you’ve won and all. If you’re not so active in extra co-

curricular activities, it’s totally fine. I only mentioned one major achievement in my

essay but I proved to them that I truly maximised the minimal opportunity I had.

Even little things like being a class monitor can be big if written so with meticulous

justifications. So, if you did boast yourself with a list of achievements, I would

advise you to limit them to only three at most. It is not about the positions and

achievements you have, but how you benefit from the opportunities you had.


The world doesn’t revolve around you, get your friends to give some

thoughts on your essay. What you want to convey might not be delivered in the

500-word. Ask around for people that you can rely on to summarise the main

points of your draft and be open to honest criticisms. Constructive criticisms will

improve your writing if you look at it positively. Tell them to put your essay under

intense scrutiny for any potential improvement, even if your essay is almost

faultless. Like Oli Sykes said, “True friends stab you in the front”. They criticise in

front of you instead of letting you stay in the dark, so you know your flaws that

need to be fixed.


My first draft was horrendous to the extent that my friend prepared a google

document to point out the inaccuracies in my essay every 2 to 3 sentences or so.

Of course, I was demoralised knowing how much I sucked at writing, but it helped

me to ameliorate my ideas. I had to scrap a big chunk of my essay, thus scripting

an almost entirely different one. Ultimately, I was very impressed and satisfied with

the final product. The small conclusion here is; do accept criticisms, it is totally fine

to not have a headstart. This whole process is an open chance for you to learn.


Conclusion


I think that would be all for the essay. Sorry if you’re here for an easy pursuit of

ideas. I will only show you the path, you must do the rest. The most important

element for this stage is for you to be sincere, and show them a portrait of your life

in form of anecdotes and arguments. Don’t hesitate to ask for sample essays and

thoughts from others. Know that for my batch, arguably only around 200 applicants

out of 3000 eligible applicants got into the next stage (like 7%??). Hence, why I am

firm with my belief that the essay is the most integral part of the application

process. Write passionately. Dedicate as much time as you can to research and

work on your essay. You have nothing to lose. Even if you did not reach the next

stage, it definitely would be a renaissance for you to discover more about yourself

and the world.


Read Syabil's second blog: Kijang Academy

With blog #2, you can further know on Syabil's Kijang Academy experience.

Read further at https://bit.ly/3GUOn7w

Comments


bottom of page