top of page
  • Writer's picturesolidaritipendidik

MAKING ME : INEQUALITY VS CURIOSITY - Harits, Petronas Scholar for Economics

Updated: Jun 19, 2022



Gender inequality, the inability to support a family, and an increase in the pay gap are issues that drew me to look for a suitable role for my future. Seeing my high school friends who couldn't afford to buy books, participating in public policy competitions, and debating, led me to the foundation of Economics. I did not take any economics classes in high school as I came from a science-only school. However, at a certain point, I knew that I did not want to become somebody in the sciences and I did not enjoy learning Science as much as learning History and Mathematics. Out of curiosity, I wanted to learn about the role of macroeconomics in helping to distribute income evenly to all people while also attempting to find a good solution for long-term economic growth in my country.


Furthermore, the word "equality" has haunted me for many years. I was curious to learn the true meaning of equality from an economic standpoint. I was curious as to why inequality occurred and whether it was harmful. Inequality can occur due to a variety of reasons, but it is unemployment and the tax burden that compelled me to learn more. I wanted to learn about unemployment, inflation, currency depreciation, and the impact of taxes on society, which led me to the Keynesian General Theory (a famous economics theory).


I've spent my days studying and discovering economic theory, and I'm convinced that I want to learn more about it. According to the Functional Equality of Saving, which is widely popularised in Accounting Theory, Saving is equal to Investment and is also dependent on national income. Obviously, income has an impact on saving and investing because people tend to spend more money on goods when they have more money in their hands, discouraging saving. However, one thing that comes to mind is that different people use their money in different ways, which mathematics cannot prove. Some people want to save their money for a future emergency, while others want to invest their money for future benefits. It teaches me that humans are unpredictable and unique. It makes me appreciate what I could and could not have as a human being. As a result, I came to the conclusion that learning economics is one of my ultimate passions, and that learning economics is a good way to contribute to society.


People enjoy discussing inflation and unemployment over coffee. It made me feel excluded because I don't know what's going on in my country or understand what they're saying. I've known since I was a child that I enjoy thinking (perhaps overthinking) and that I enjoy watching news that shows the national budget and financial plan. One thing I like about economics is that there are no right or wrong answers to problems, which contrasts with science because facts in science are unarguable. As a result, there will be more debate and sharing of ideas.


Besides that, learning economics is related to my personality and hobbies, which include reading, writing, and solving mathematics. I want to learn how mathematics can be used to solve economic problems and why mathematics is important in our daily lives. It fascinated me that an economist could develop a theory based on differentiation and calculus, such as the Marshall-Lerner Condition. Having currently, a background in history, mathematics, further mathematics and economics during my A-level sponsored by Petronas provides me with a strong foundation to further develop my skills in solving real-world problems. I learned from a book that studying economics does not require me to become an economist or to join a political party; instead, I can work in the financial sector, government, research, academia, or even consulting. Any world problem that is related to society requires a person with a background in economics, and I believe that I am one of them.


Read Harits's second blog: ‘A voyage from dreams to reality’

With blog #2, you can further understand why Harits chose his current scholarship and how the scholarship experience was like for him. Read further at bit.ly/BlogSP-Harits-2


45 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page