top of page
  • Writer's picturesolidaritipendidik

Law and Yayasan Khazanah - Lenisha Nair, Scholar

Updated: Jun 19, 2022


LAW


“Yesterday was history, tomorrow is a mystery, but, today is a gift and that is exactly why it

is called present”. This saying is neither by an influential politician nor a successful

businessman. Instead, it’s from the famous computer-animated film, Kung Fu Panda. Isn’t it

mind-blowing that a film with children as its main target audience is able to deliver such a

thought-provoking statement?


This was exactly how I started the essay that I submitted to Yayasan Khazanah. I truly

believe that a loving family is the foundation of a delightful childhood. An impeccable

childhood is an essential behind-the-scenes factor that catalyses the emergence of remarkable leaders. I am more than grateful to be blessed with very supportive parents who have unfailingly been my pillar of strength. Growing up, I never hesitated to voice out my opinions or provide suggestions in discussions. I take pride in saying that my family sparked my interest in the field of law, specifically family law. It covers issues such as child abuse,

domestic violence and divorce cases. I aspire to lend a helping hand to people who aren’t as

fortunate as myself. Moreover, this field enables me to further develop my undying passion in

women empowerment. It might be too early for me to specify my interest in one particular

field of law. I might even choose to venture into a different field of law in the future.

However, family law will always remain as my first love and most importantly, I can never

imagine myself as anything but a lawyer.


SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION


A year ago, if I were told that I was about to be offered a full scholarship for my A-Levels

AND undergraduate studies, I would have either laughed out loud, or shook my head in

disbelief. This is because I was sort of living under a rock. At the time when my SPM results

was released, there was a forwarded message circulating via WhatsApp. It was a long list of

scholarships with their respective opening and closing dates. Being a student from a normal

daily school in a town that people rarely manage to identify, I barely knew about the

existence of various scholarships and organisations that provide extensive guidance regarding the application processes. Hence, I randomly applied for almost every single scholarship that was in that list. Since I obtained 8A+ and 1A in my SPM, I was quite optimistic and confident about it.


However, days passed by and I started becoming more and more anxious as I did not receive any form of replies. Overthinking is one of the natural talents that I am gifted with. Hence, I started imagining worst-case scenarios. What if I do not get any scholarship? How would my parents fund my studies? That was when I got an email from Yayasan Khazanah to undergo a numerical and verbal assessment (Stage 1). I found the assessment extremely challenging and I honestly thought that I flunked it. These negative feelings and thoughts were elevated when I was rejected by a scholarship body after managing to reach up to its final stage of selection. My confidence began to shatter. I almost impulsively accepted an offer for a course that I had zero interest in, out of fear and confusion. Then, the self-blame phase began. I started blaming myself for not getting 9A+ in SPM. I was very desperate to not burden my parents with expensive payments. I felt like a disappointment. The only thing that kept me going was my parents’ unconditional love and support.


One fine day, I received a congratulatory email from Yayasan Khazanah because I managed to proceed to Stage 2. It definitely felt surreal as by then, I already ruled out the possibility of being a YK scholar. It seemed like a new light of hope and assurance. I also looked at it as my final chance of securing a scholarship and worked very hard all the way up to stage 5 (a few more assessments and interviews). Guess what? I made it!!!! It was a perfect ‘save the best for the last’ moment. Fast forward to today, I am indeed very grateful to YK for believing in me and providing me with this wonderful opportunity. I didn’t know that being a YK scholar is an absolute jackpot until I started my A-Levels studies in Kolej Yayasan UEM (KYUEM). Trust me when I say that I neither knew the existence of such scholarship, nor college.


DEALING WITH REJECTIONS


Personally, applying for scholarships will always be one of the most impactful phases in my

life. I learnt the importance of having confidence and trust in the path that my life has in store

for me. We always hear that ‘everything happens for a reason’. I experienced it the hard way.

At the end of the journey, I managed to grow as a better person and chose to simply be

myself in everything I do. At one point, you might even feel left out because your friends

have started their tertiary level education. However, do keep in mind that it is absolutely

normal for the selection process to consume some time because, you are about to be among

the best of the best. Do not compare yourself with others, instead, make sure that you are a

better person today, than who you were yesterday. Additionally, do not give up if you ever

face any form of rejections. Believe in yourself and your capabilities. Different scholarship

bodies have different expectations. Most importantly, rejection is not a reflection of your

potentials, instead, it brings you a step closer to success. In a few months’ time, everything

will naturally take place and you would be extremely proud of how far you have come. The

most hurtful processes produce the most satisfying outcomes.


REASON BEHIND MY SHARING


I would like to emphasise that my sharing is purely to inspire students out there who are

clueless about scholarships and their application processes. No matter who you are or where

you are from, your talents and achievements deserve to be recognised. The entire journey can be very overwhelming and stressful especially if you do not have any family members or

friends with prior experience in this matter. Initially, I had no idea about the existence of

organisations such as BASE Initiative and Solidariti Pendidikan mainly because I wasn’t on

any social media platforms. I intend to spread awareness about the mentorship programmes

that these organisations provide to ease the burden of students. Do not miss the deadlines of

these programmes and constantly update yourselves with their newest information which

would be very helpful. Make sure to do as much research as possible to maximise your

knowledge about various available career pathways of the course that you intend to pursue.

This would enable you to come forth as a confident applicant especially during the

interviews. Furthermore, you will be able to connect with many potential scholars from all

around Malaysia through these programmes. Sometimes, you just need someone who is in the same page as you, and this might be the best platform to get to know such people.


Best wishes everyone!! You can do this!! Just believe in yourself and trust the process as

nothing is impossible. Your efforts would definitely pay off. Do not hesitate to contact me via

Instagram @shaa_nair in case you need more information or assistance. Thank you!

77 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page