top of page
  • Writer's picturesolidaritipendidik

Kijang Academy - Syabil Ilham, Bank Negara Malaysia Scholar for Economics

Updated: Jun 19, 2022




July 16th, I swear that night revitalised my hope after getting rejected for

other scholarships. YESS!! I was invited to Kijang Academy SHJDSHD!! This stage

was split into two main parts; assignments and interviews.


btw if you haven't read the first part please do so thanks <3


First assignment (Psychometric assessment)


I honestly do not know much on what to advise here sozz HAHAHAH. One of

the few things that I could suggest is very cliché like being sincere and consistent.

The AI is designed to know what type of person are you, not to evaluate how good

of a person are you. You would be in great trouble if you do not answer the

questions truthfully. Also, be consistent with your answers. Some of the questions

are repetitive but were rephrased in different words. So, do watch out for that, and

don’t put yourself in a pickle.


There is also a belief saying that you should avoid choosing the “extreme”

options (Strongly agree/strongly disagree). I do follow this to a certain extent. I do

neutralise some of my answers, yet I still pick a few extreme options if it truly suits

me. My senior, Izzati wrote more about this on her blog. It was my vital reference

at that time — which ultimately lead me to receive the scholarship. So make sure to

check it out!


Second assignment (Video submission)


For this section, we were instructed to produce a short video on the following

topics:


i) BNM’s steps to assist the rakyat during the COVID-19 pandemic

ii) Be better or be the best?

iii) Who is your superhero?


We have about 3 days to brainstorm our ideas before writing a script and

shooting the video. And that’s not even including the time to edit. Just like Izzati

said on his blog, “time was of the essence”. Choose your topic carefully depending

on how much it suits you. I like sharing my life experience and I thought it is a

good opportunity for me to pick the superhero topic so I can tell more about

myself. Since I believe that my development has been largely impacted by

inspiration, I have no problem enunciating my thoughts. If you’re more of a debate

person and like argumentative topics, then go for questions like number 2. It is all

on you.


Also, be creative in your videos. They give a lot of flexibility for you to

interpret the topics. For instance, most people would pick someone close to them

as a superhero. It was different for me. I chose someone that probably never knew

about my existence, and he is also a quite peculiar figure to be looked at as a

superhero HAHAHAH. Nonetheless, I drafted it well by providing interesting facts

and how he became a superhero of mine. For this kind of question at least, since

they ask about your superhero, I believe it is important that you tell about yourself

too.


Flexibility was also given to us graphics-wise. Instead of just presenting your

script in front of the camera, you can literally do anything to make your movie

more interesting to watch. As long as it adheres to the guidelines and moral

appropriation of course. I emulated the style of Vsauce for my video, which if you

don’t know, is like a quirky/comical style of educational videos. I also featured

myself doing random things like playing with my cats, pretending to drive a car,

pretending to participate in a marathon, and a bunch of others. I thought it would

be great to provide some sort of entertainment for the interviewers, something

strikingly different for them to remember me. Anddd I think I absolutely aced in

that aspect. One of the first things they mentioned during my personal interview is

the humouring video, which they found very funny! What follows is largely

dependent on their first impression of you. If you’re dead serious on your video,

then they will be dead serious during the interview too. I captivated their attention

with my essay and video (which they read and watch right before your interview),

this leads them to invest their interest in me a bit more.


So be creative okie!! One of my seniors created a very interesting vlog for his

submission, and another even sang throughout the video! Do not be afraid to break

the norms.


Kijang Academy Preparation


Abraham Lincoln said, “give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will

spend the first four sharpening the axe.” Adhering to that quote, I really worked my

socks off prior to the interview day (on the 24th of July). I was fortunate to have

seniors guiding me —giving me a first-hand account of what to expect. But there’s

no point in guiding someone without execution.


I have a few friends who also got to this stage. We grouped up to work

together in discussing sample case studies to get a glimpse of the discussion

ambience. After months of isolation, this is a great initiative to loosen up your rusty

social skills and get back to your usual self. If you guys are reading this, I want you

to know that you are awesome!! :D


I found this really helpful in the sense that I learned to respect others’

opinions, not overpower the discussion, and be concise whenever I got the spotlight

to speak. I understand that some people might not have the privilege to connect

with friends and seniors. In that case, don’t worry! You can always practice with

yourself. For instance, I prepared for my JPA interview only by recording myself

answering sample questions before watching the recording afterwards. In that way,

I can analyse my answers from the spectacles of the interviewers’ view. If you do

have the privilege, then do utilise it to the utmost potential.


A mock interview is also a good way to go. Arrange a one-hour session with

your friends to practicalize what you have prepared. You know sometimes you had

the answer to the question, but then all of it goes blank. So, this is one of the ways

to not be uneasy when D-Day came upon us. You can also give feedback to one

another on what and how to improve. Basically, it was a total joy to listen to my

friends’ opinions and stories. It really loosened me up for the interview, in contrast

to my supposition that it will be tense. Be professional but casual. Props to them

too! Wouldn’t be possible if not for them <3


I am sure you know what to do about the rest. Research on Bank Negara, re-

read your essay (they might ask questions on that) and write pre-written answers.

Ultimately, be prepared. Not only theoretically, but also practically.


Ice-breaking Session


For my year, we had to pick a virtual background picture that pleases us, fun

or humorous. Just like the essay, this ice-breaking session is also the first domino

that will affect your whole performance afterwards. This is the time for you to

unwind. You don’t need to be too formal in this session, the same goes for the case

study discussion later. Prove yourself as a person that is easy-going with others, so

you can build a harmonious and interactive discussion.


We were instructed to tell more about our background picture before picking

someone else’s as a favourite. Mine is a picture of my friend and a cat, which might

seem a bit weird but it has a very rich and sweet-sour backstory to it. I was not the

first to present my story. In fact, I was second to last (if I remember correctly). But

considering the peculiarity of my choice of picture (I was the only one to choose a

picture that is not from the Internet), I think it was a strategy to hook the

interviewers up for my turn. Mystery and intriguing were what I aimed for. All in all,

it worked! We had laughter and from the expression they gave, I could tell they

really enjoyed my story :D. In the end, 3 out of 7 other participants chose my

picture as their favourite before proceeding to tell their own fascinating stories.


One thing I want to say here is DON’T BOAST YOURSELF. Ice-breaking is not

a platform for you to flex and shove your achievements on others — insinuating

that you are better than them. Save that for the personal interview. It is not a

competition here. In my case, I did not even mention anything about my success

though I can totally posit it right away. All I said was about the cat and memories

with my friends in taking care of the cat back in MRSM TGB. The task will probably

be different for other years, but the argument still stands.


Case Study Session


Okay, let’s put it this way. If the ice-breaking session is to evaluate your

social skills, this session is to judge your ability to work in a team. If you still think

this is a competition — better drop that mentality. To be brutally honest, I was not

the alpha of the group. I was active, but in a sense, that is not limiting others to

voice their opinions. I tried to contribute instead of dominating. Give suggestions,

not instructions.

Prior to this, we were given a topic about National Vaccination Plan. They

gave us a set of statistics and scenarios to take into consideration one day before

the actual case study session. Then we had 40 minutes to discuss before

proceeding to the presentation and Q&amp;A session. Don’t worry, the case study

requires nothing but basic calculation and adequate English proficiency. However,

one thing we did was make a comparison table for the vaccination plans. In that

way, we were able to clearly outline the critical points.


Let’s get into the technicals here, shall we?


1. Be respectful. They're your colleagues, not rivals.

2. Be inclusive. Do not be hard-bitten. Ask for others’ opinions.

3. Do not overpower the discussion.

4. Be concise and only speak what is necessary. 40 minutes is shorter than it

seems.

5. Take initiatives (such as writing notes on the chat, doing calculations, and

timekeeping)

6. Listen to others and take notes of their info. It might be helpful to credit

them for ideas/referrals. It proves that you’re a good listener.


There’s nothing much to worry about for this session. Yes, you need to be

well prepared, but not to the extent where you’re being too meticulous on a task

that was meant to be brief and simple. A general reminder for this session is “do

not be self-centred”. That is all.


Individual Interview


This is your final chance to prove yourself. The first thing that you need to

know is; BE SINCERE! Being dishonest or over-exaggerating your

achievements/knowledge can be analogised as borrowing one million dollars from a

loan shark, it would only get you into trouble afterwards. The reason is, questions

will be asked by the interviewers according to your previous answers. So, let’s say

if they asked you “What is your passion?”, and you sugarcoated your answer by

saying that you love history. They will ask follow-up questions that are related to

history and BNM’s horizon. In my case, I kinda over-boasted myself by mentioning

that I am interested in behavioural economics. The consequence is very risky, but I

humbly said that I just learned about the theory and will try my best to answer

based on what I understand.


Also, be open to corrections before you proceed to talk about anything

factual. This will prove that you’re not a “palataologist” that always “acah pandai”.

In my opinion, it is a big advantage if you appear humble, yet passionate about

what you’re doing. It is totally fine if you don’t know what to answer. Just admit

that you’re underinformed and they will shift their attention onto other questions

that fit your knowledge better. If you proceed to answer blindly, it will only result in

time wastage and the interviewers will most probably criticise your lack of factual

accuracy.


Hence, I extremely advise you to be truthful and be yourself :).


Here’s a bit about my experience — I was actually expecting the interviewers

to ask more personal questions since that was the case for my seniors and even my

fellow friends post-interview. However, once it was my turn, they put me into the

hot seat — bombarded me with high-level questions. One of the first questions they

asked me was veryyyy factual indeed; “I see that you’re into behavioural

economics, tell me how this can help BNM”. The reason they asked this was

because of a paragraph of my essay where I mentioned behavioural economics as

the future of economic theories. (Another reason to know your essay in and out

before the interview). With my very basic knowledge, I took a risk by talking about

“game theory” in economic decision-making. I did pretty well (I think) before it

backfired on me when the interviewer asked me about books and economics

professors relating to that field of study. At that time I had to back up and admit

my illiteracy on that. They were okay with it and moved on to other questions that I

definitely can answer better.


Here is a brief version of my advice in accordance with its importance:


#1 Be yourself, be honest (Yes it is cliché but it will save your life)

#2 Emphasise more on the benefits of your co-curricular activities — not the results

#3 Show your passion, speak with enthusiasm. You must prove that you learn

because it is your passion, not an obligation.

#4 You do not need to be too formal. You can even rojak. Make your speeches

interesting.

#5 Don’t speak for too long. Be concise to keep them entertained. Don’t worry they

will ask you questions until they are satisfied. Longer answers will only label you as

boring when compared to others.

#6 Ask for a minute before answering their questions if you need to. I did and

they’re totally fine with it.

#7 Have fun throughout the session. Don’t be someone that has infinite knowledge

but zero personality

#8 Know your interviewers, so you can eye out what particulars they are interested

in. It is also super attractive to compliment/refer them on what you’re saying.

#9 Do a background check on BNM. Know why they’re different from other banks

and scholarships. Put that as a reason why you want Kijang Scholarship.

(Hint: they’re a central bank, and one unique difference that sets apart itself from

other banks is…) p/s: yes this is the cheat code


Conclusion


I think the essay is the most pivotal part of the application. Even until the

final stage, they will judge you (or be biased) by your essay. An impressive and

striking essay will give a positive long-lasting first impression on you. Even if you

mess up your interview a bit, you still have hope in your essay (and video) to lobby

their judgement. I kicked off my essay with a quote from Plato regarding economic

inequality. Instead of giving statistics to elaborate on the issue, I explained by

narrating it from my perspective and encounters


“The epiphany came to me after watching the film “Snowpiercer”, of which I

found my passion in economics.”


From this sentence only, I conveyed that i)I am a movie buff, ii) I am

inquisitive even when I am having fun, iii) I have a definite interest in economics.


The reason I mention this here instead of in the essay section is that this is

the epitome of my writing that can be applied to every stage and session of this

whole selection process:

i) Be passionate about your hobbies and interests. Even if it seems common

and unbeneficial on the surface (in my case it’s movies)

ii) Be curious and excited to learn something new

iii) Be determined to be a scholar of the Central Bank of Malaysia


And yes, if you’re wondering. I did get the scholarship in the end. The 7-days

waiting period seems like forever. The agony of waiting and sacrificial efforts that I

made was totally worth it. So, even if you didn’t get the award in the end. Make it a

stepping stone for you to work harder. As I would like to put it “from damage

comes wisdom”. Getting this scholarship is an opportunity, but not a guarantee for

you to excel in the future. Results do matter, but the journey is more important. I

am sure you will learn a lot from this experience.


Read Syabil's first blog: The Birth of a Fawn

Learn how Syabil wrote his scholarship essay that got him into Kijang Academy

137 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page